Access & visibility
Securely collaborate with your team and access external data using granular access and visibility controls. This section covers how permissions work within Noteable.
Access &/or visibility can be independently configured for the following artifacts:
For spaces, projects, notebooks, and files a subset of the following roles may be assigned directly to a user or to a general access link:
Users who can view, duplicate, & download the artifact.
Viewers who can add or manage comments on an artifact.
Commenters who can execute notebook cells to update outputs.
Executors who can edit objects and perform all operations except move & delete.
Can perform all available actions.
The order in which permissions will be assessed is:
- 1.Explicitly granted permissions: permissions that have been set via explicit sharing with a designated user.
- 2.Inherited permissions: permissions that a notebook, file, or project inherits from its containing project or space.
- 3.Link permissions: permissions that are set for a general access link.
To make it easier to collaborate, notebooks have two inherited group permissions called Everybody at <space> and Everybody at <project> that both default to the Contributor role. This inherited permission can be changed by using the Share menu. Learn more: Secure notebooks.
In addition to configuring user access to an artifact, visibility settings are frequently available to determine who can see that an object exists. The following are visibility settings that may be available on some objects in some environments:
Accessible only by users artifact has been shared with.
Accessible by all users in the organization.
Accessible by all users, logged in or not.