Search
⌃K

Collaborate with notebooks

Noteable lets you quickly and easily share notebooks with others so they may interact with data and collaborate on your work. This article describes how you can share notebooks with others.
Notebook collaboration occurs in real-time in Noteable, meaning you can see who is currently viewing your notebook and which cell they're interacting with. Changes are immediately visible to all users on the notebook.

Share notebook with users

To share your notebook with specific users or configure access for all users in the space or project:
  1. 1.
    Go to the notebook.
  2. 2.
    Click the Share button in the top right corner.
  3. 3.
    Search for and select the user or group you want to share with.
  4. 4.
    Assign a role to the user.
  5. 5.
    Click Done.
Share a notebook
To make it easier to share a notebook, you can configure a general access link to share with everybody that operates under a specified role:
  1. 1.
    Go to the notebook.
  2. 2.
    Click the Share button in the top right corner.
  3. 3.
    Configure the Visibility (must be open or public)
  4. 4.
    Click on the role drop-down menu above the link and assign a role to the link.
  5. 5.
    Share link.
Share notebook with link

Share notebook versions

To share a particular version of a notebook:
  1. 1.
    Go to the notebook.
  2. 2.
    Open the Version menu by clicking on the clock icon (
    ) in the right sidebar.
  3. 3.
    Hover over the notebook version to access the (
    ) menu.
  4. 4.
    Select Share link to copy the link to the clipboard.
  5. 5.
    Share link.
Share notebook version

Configure notebook visibility

Visibility settings control who can see a notebook and its contents. Notebook Contributors & Owners can manage these options from the Share menu:
  1. 1.
    Go to the notebook.
  2. 2.
    Click the Share button in the top right corner.
  3. 3.
    Set the Visibility using the drop-down menu on the bottom of the modal.
  4. 4.
    Click Done.
Set notebook visibility

Secure notebooks

By default, notebooks and files will inherit two group permissions called Everybody at <space> and Everybody at <project> that both default to the Contributor role. To disable this access and make a notebook private:
  1. 1.
    Go to the notebook.
  2. 2.
    Click the Share button in the top right corner.
  3. 3.
    Select No Access from the role drop-down menu next to Everyone at <space>.
  4. 4.
    Select No Access from the role drop-down menu next to Everyone at <project>.
  5. 5.
    Set the Visibility to Private.
  6. 6.
    Click Done.
Secure notebooks
​